Connect with us

Local News

Escape From Spike Island Swim – Sunday August 7th



The forty one swimmers before the start

Despite the horrible intermittent weather conditions, the 5th annual ‘Escape From Spike Swim’ took place on Sunday, when forty one swimmers from around the country braved the cold water, hazardous currents and predicted thunderstorms to take part in this one mile open water swim from Spike Island in Cork Harbour to Cobh in an effort to raise funds for the Lions Club. This was a Lions Club International insured event and before the race swimmers were ferried to Spike Island by several small high-speed boats and ribs after a short safety briefing by event organiser Niall O Crualaoich.

The race got off to a perfect start when swimmers entered the Spike waters at 11.38am with Ned Denison leading the field and being first across the finishing line in a time of 00:23:45, shaving 49 seconds from Brian O’Shea’s winning time of 00.24.34 last year.

Overall winner Ned Denison in a time of 00:23:45

Speaking with Event Safety Coordinator Joanne O Crualaoich she explained that ‘All swimmers should have at least swum in the Open Water environment this year and be capable of swimming the distance before their entry was accepted. Obviously we would have liked more swimmers but we were very conscious of safety so the number was limited. We’re delighted to be able to do this now very popular annual event and once again the people of Cobh were great in coming out to support us.’

Overall Winner – Ned Denison
First Male In Wetsuit – Jim Shalloo
First Female In Wetsuit – Marie Barry
First Female In Togs – Ellen O’Brien

Cobh Edition also have over 160 photographs of the swim on our Facebook page at

Race winner Ned Denison with First Male In Wetsuit Jim Shaloo right)

First Female In Wetsuite, Marie Barry

First Female In Togs, Ellen O'Brien (AGAIN.....)


Escape from Spike results 2011
Start Nr. Name Surname Wetsuit Time Overall
1 Michael Fogarty Yes 32.47 20th
2 Brian O’Shea Yes 25.21 3rd
3 Sinead Bracken Yes 36.25 28th
4 Brian Russell Yes 33.26 21st
5 Jim Shalloo Yes 23.36 2nd
6 Joe Breathnach No 28.58 10th
7 John Carew No 44.40. 37th
8 Clare Morrissey Yes 30.16 13th
9 Fergus Galvin Yes 32.06 17th
10 Maura Murphy No 35.40. 24th
11 Mary Horgan Yes 32.01 16th
12 Robbie Allen No 32.35 19th
17 Finbarr Hedderman No 36.56 29th
18 Ned Denison No 22.38 1st
19 Ellen O’Brien No 32.16 18th
20 Ross Michael Gernon Yes 26.14 5th
21 vanessa daws No 50.23 38th
22 Peter Meaney Yes 27.33 7th
24 Marie Barry Yes 27.16 6th
25 Robin Newsome Yes 26.03 4th
26 aisling finn Yes 39.00. 34th
27 Matt Lilley Yes 28.32 8th
28 Andy Millar Yes 38.27 31st
29 Ray Goggins Yes 36.14 27th
30 Mick Horgan Yes 34.40. 23rd
32 Billy Coffey Yes 38.09 30th
33 Ray Power Yes 38.40. 32nd
34 Gary Power Yes 38.40. 33rd
35 Ray Toomey Yes 31.1 15th
36 Brian Murray Yes 41.35 35th
37 Paul O Brien Yes 36.01 25th
38 Mags O Brien No 36.01 26th
39 Eric Murphy Yes 34.01 22nd
40 Tom McCarthy Yes 30.32 14th
41 Kieran Nolan No 44.26 36th
42 John F Walsh No 29.01 11th
43 Frank Kelleher Yes 29.07 12th
45 Gay Castles Yes 28.32 9th
46 eithne burke Yes 51.00. 39th
47 sandra o shea Yes 51.00. 40th
48 james gould Yes 51.00. 41st
Continue Reading

Trending Locally