Connect with us

Local News

Cobh Pirates Annual Adult Awards



Pirates Award Winners

Cobh Pirates RFC recently held their annual adults awards night. This is done on a yearly basis, and is a chance for players to be recognised by the club for the hard work that they put in on and off the field on a regular basis.

Kevin O Keefe (last seasons Junior 1 team manager) was deputising for the out going chairman, Mr Gill Jefferson, and in doing so handed out no less than 12 individual awards as well as the numerous medals that the Junior 2 team gathered throughout their successful season.

First to be honoured on the night was Kelly Sexton. Kelly is involved in the promotion of rugby in the schools, in particular introducing tag rugby to the primary schools.

Ian Dunne was then recognised for his appointment as coach to the Munster Junior team. In this his first season with the side Ian introduced a number of young players to the inter-provincial scene, and in doing so was only “pipped at the post” to win the series in his maiden year. Also working with the same squad was clubman Steve Mulvihill. Steve was awarded for his work with the back room team, working closely with the players and their injury/medical needs.

Provincial squad members JJ Frahill, Tom Keavney and Martin Clifford were then given the stage to mark their selection to the squad. All 3 players took some part in all of the games, both competitive and pre season warm ups, and all had the pleasure of representing their province in Cobh during the recent charity game held there.

The Junior 2 most improved player of the year was then awarded to Liam Greaney. Liam, in his first season of rugby, was “the find of the season”, and took to the sport comfortably. In each game he played he was a thorn in the side of the opposition, always first to the breakdown and to support his fellow players.

The Junior 2 player of the season went to Limerick native Gary Price. Gary, a member of the Naval Service, completed his first full season with the club. And in doing so cemented his place in the 2nd row due to his ever hard working and honest style of play. Gary preformed at a constant high level through out the entire lengthy season.

Next was the Young player of the year, going to worthy winner Mark Chandler. Mark, still playing at u-21 level, broke into the Junior 1 team this season. His accurate kicking and ability to move his back line was recognised when he was selected to play for the Cobh invitational side in the recent charity game.

Junior 1 most improved player was Dave MacCauliffe. Dave went one better than last year when he won the Junior 2 player of the year. Dave, playing in the hooker slot, took on the best front rows Munster has to offer over the season. He consistent work rate on the field is testament to his attitude to his game in general.

Junior 1 player of the year went to Tom Keavney. Tom, yet another young player, made the “tight head spot” his own and in doing so was rewarded by receiving his first provincial caps. Tom had to work extremely hard every game he played and in doing so improved right until the end of the season.

Club person of the year was the last individual award to be presented, and the worthy recipient was Junior 2 team coach Bill Dillane. At the start of the 2009/10-season Cobh, like most of the other Junior clubs in the province, were having difficulty with player numbers. This was due to immigration and players work commitment etc. As a result the Junior 2 team had to pull out of their first competition. Bill worked tirelessly to retain sufficient numbers to allow Cobh to compete at Junior 1 and 2 levels. In doing so the junior 2 team took on all comers, winning the Junior 2 league South, the Kelly cup and the Junior 2 Munster league (for the first time). They lost out by a single point in final of the Junior 2 cup. Testament to this is the invitation received by the Cobh Pirates RFC to allow Cobh Town Council to honour the team in a civic reception to take part later in the summer.

Bill graciously accepted the award and paid tribute to Peter (Brick) Ahearn on his work, alongside Bill, for the entire season.

Finally all the squad members received their medals for the respective competions they took part in.

Well done to Bill and all the award winners for the season past.

Work is already in progress for the coming season with the pre-season well under way.


Bill Dillane

Dave McCauliffe J1 Most improved player

Gary Price J2 player of the year

Ian Dunne

JJ Frahill

Kelly Sexton

Liam Greaney J2 most improved

Mark Chandler Best Young player

Martin Clifford

Steve Mulvihill

Tom Keavney J1 player of the year

Continue Reading

Trending Locally