Connect with us

Local News

East Cork GAA Notes



The AGM of The East Cork Board took place in Killeagh GAA Club on Wednesday last December 4th. Chairman of Killeagh, Colman Motherway opened the meeting by welcoming Officers and Members of The Board, Chairperson and Members of The County Board Executive.

Officers reports were read and adopted before The Chairman, Donal O’Keeffe addressed the meeting. The highlight of both the Secretary’s report and Divisional Chairman’s address was the return of The Sean Og Murphy Cup to The Barony for the third successive year.

Election of Officers was next on the agenda, the only change for 2020 being the office of PRO. Outgoing PRO is Shane Supple, St Ita’s and newly elected is Avril Geary, also of St Ita’s.
Officers are as follows,
President, William Ring Cloyne,
Chairman, Donal O’Keeffe, Lisgoold
Vice Chairman, Jerome O’Brien, Cloyne
Secretary, Michael O’Brien, Aghada
Treasurer, Kieran McGann, Castlelyons
PRO Avril Geary, St Ita’s
Cultural Officer, Liam O’Laochdha, Youghal
Development Officer, Richard Fitzgerald, Russell Rovers

A presentation was made to Shane Supple for his contribution to the Board over the last 4 years and good wishes were extended to him as he takes up a new position as Administrator with Rebel Og. He thanked The Board, Clubs within the Division along with photographers and media for their cooperation and contributions during his term as PRO.

The new PRO addressed the meeting and said she was honoured to become the 9th PRO of The Imokilly Division and looked forward to promoting and highlighting The Board and all The Clubs in East Cork.

County Chairperson Tracey Kennedy was last to the podium, she mentioned how proud she was to be addressing Convention in her home Club Killeagh. She was honoured to present The County Senior Cup to Seamie Harnedy as Captain of Imokilly and also trophies to The Captains of neighbouring Clubs Russell Rovers and Fr O’Neills. She spoke about the challenges facing Cork GAA at the moment but was confident that the future looks bright for The County.

Meeting concluded with a rendition of Amhran na bhFiann from Don Hegarty Carrignavar before refreshments were served. Thanks to Colman and his hardworking Committee for their hosting of a very successful AGM.

Congratulations to Russell Rovers, Munster Junior Hurling Champions 2019, beating St Mary’s (Waterford) 2-13 to 0-11 in Fraher Field, Dungarvan on Sunday December 8th.

As this will be the last report before Christmas, we wish both Russell Rovers and Fr O’Neills best of luck in their respective All Ireland Semi Finals in early January.

On behalf of The Board I would like to wish you all a very happy Christmas and a sporting New Year!

Continue Reading

Trending Locally