Connect with us

Local News

Labour Party – Cork East Constituency meeting



Last Monday evening 29th March, a large group of over 50 people attended the inaugural Cork East Labour Party Constituency meeting held in the SIPTU offices in Midleton.  The attendant members were drawn from all the various branches within the Cork East Constituency:- Mallow Branches 1 & 2 , Mitchelstown, Fermoy, Cobh, Midleton and Youghal.
The meeting was opened by Sean Sherlock TD, who was delighted and encouraged by the number of people that were able to attend on such an appalling evening, weather wise. The meeting proceeded to the election of officers as follows:-

President: Paddy McCarthy.(Cobh Branch)

President: Paddy McCarthy - (Cobh Branch)

Chairman: Seamus Feehan. (Fermoy Branch)

Vice Chair: Donal Hennessy.(Mallow  Branch)

Secretary: Eric Nolan.(Midleton Branch)

Assist. Sec: Úna Sherlock.(Mallow  Branch)

PRO: Cllr. Donie Daly.(Youghal Branch)

Equality Officer: Bridget Crowley. (Mitchelstown Branch)

Co – Treasurers: Cllr. Noel McCarthy (Fermoy )

Chris O’Sullivan (Midleton Branch)

Many individuals spoke passionately and enthusiastically and based on the evidence of this gathering the prospects for the Labour Party in Cork East at the next General Election are extremely heartening. Cllr. Noel McCarthy, Mayor of Fermoy spoke at length about these prospects and the goal of achieving 2 Labour TD’s should not be a dream but should be very much a reality. Among others who spoke on the night were  Cllr. James Kennedy (Mallow), Cllr. Donie Daly (Youghal), Cllr. Tom Cashman (Midleton).

Any people interested in joining any of the various Labour Party branches in Cork East should contact their local branch or alternatively Una Sherlock (022) 53523.

Continue Reading

Trending Locally