Connect with us

Local Rugby

Cobh Pirates RFC News



At the recent AGM the following were elected: President, John Cahill; Chairperson, Kieran Mc Keown; Hon. Sec., Eithne O’Connell; Hon. Treas., Eoin Lane;
Juvenile Chairperson, Kevin O’Keeffe; P.R.O. Joe Mac Coitir; Rugby Officer, Eoin Chandler; Ladies Section, Liz Cotter; Club Coach, John O’Sullivan; Club Captain, Ruairí Geary;

Munster Branch Delegate, Nick O’Keeffe; Hon. Auditor, Kevin O’Donovan
Committee; Richie McGrath, Colman Rasmussen, Peter Ahern, David Hallahan, Dion McKeown, Derry Allister and Bridie Moloney.
It was a successful year at the Club.  Some of our experienced players retired but there is a new young cohort of talented players already making their mark and the future looks bright. Congratulations to Ruairí Geary on his exploits with the Munster Junior team this year and on his appointment as Captain of next year’s Munster Junior team.  At Juvenile level there were 309 registered players involved every Saturday morning which bodes well for a vibrant club continuing into the future.

While normal rugby is in abeyance for the summer there will still be some activities. There will be a Munster Summer Camp for boys and girls (age 6-13) at The Paddocks from July 16th to July 20th. For details see . There will also be Summer Tag for kids starting on the first Monday of August. Ladies Rugby have Tag every Wednesday @ 7 pm – why not try it out? Mixed Adult Tag will start during June. On Sat. August 16th  there will be a Cycle fundraiser From Dungarvan to Cobh. Organiser Ken McNamara is looking for participants and Sponsorship cards are available from him.

Continue Reading

Trending Locally